Update on Wine Bottle Spoon Rest

Fused Glass Wine Bottle Spoon Rest

The last wine bottle spoon rest mold post was May, 2007.  I have changed the firing schedule a little since then.  Also, there is a new place to get the mold to make this spoon rest.

The new website to get this mold is:  http://www.mackymolds.com/GlassSaggers.htm.  However, it is more widely available, now.  I have seen it at delphi.com, too.

My firing schedule has changed quite a bit since I posted it in a similar post about wine bottle spoon rests, but I am not sure which one at this moment.

Anyway here it is:

300  1100  30 min. hold

200 1250 30 min. hold

400  1420  10 min. hold

Full  1030  2 hrs. hold

150  700  1 min. hold

The first two segments are a bubble squeeze.  This may be adjusted for bottles that tend to get more bubbles.  For those types of bottles, I will go up to 1350 instead of 1250.  Or, you can use 100 instead of 200.

This schedule is for my Skutt 1414 – the bath tub kiln.  Every kiln is different, so you will probably adjust this schedule for your particular kiln.  Play around with it until it is right for you.  I have been making a lot of spoon rests from a lot of different types of bottles.  I even have slight adjustments for this schedule depending on the types of bottles I am slumping.  Some need more hold time and others need less.  So this schedule is not a one type fits all.

The temps. are in Fahrenheit.

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to see my Fused Glass Art:

www.mastersglassart.com

.

4 Responses to “Update on Wine Bottle Spoon Rest”

  1. Denise Says:

    This is a very interesting site. I love your work Christine. I wanted to view more of your work on the mastersglassart.com but the site doesn’t work. I wasn’t sure if you are aware of this. I will definitely book mark this page.
    Denise

    • glassart Says:

      Hi Denise,

      I just opened my mastersglassart.com website and was able to view everything. So, give it another try :)

      Christine

      • Denise Says:

        Hi Christine,

        Maybe it is just this end but I can get to the home page but all the icons (fused earrings, spoon rests, gallery, customer comments etc) say “file 404 page not found.

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Denise,
    I tried clicking on all those links you mentioned and they are working fine for me. Just a thought – try rebooting your computer. Also, try using another browser, ie. if you are using Internet Explorer, try Mozilla Foxfire or another one. I don’t know if these will help.

    Thanks for telling me about this problem. If you still have problems, I will contact my website admin person and see if he has any ideas.

    Christine


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

