I am making a drop ring vase.

Yellow Glass LaceI have been experimenting with glass lace for awhile.  Basically, it’s a technique of fusing glass frit.  You need to put the frit on the kiln shelf, but leave enough gaps, so after fusing the glass frit fuses to itself, but leaves some holes, too.  I went through several experiments until I got something that I liked.   The photo shows the yellow glass lace that I liked.

I didn’t know what to do with it, so it sat in my workspace for awhile.   I then fused it to a piece of black glass, by the way, the glass lace is yellow.  The fusing went well and I got what I wanted, but it was an oval piece, so I couldn’t really make a bowl.

So, it sat in my workspace for awhile.  Later, I got the idea to fuse the piece to another black piece of glass and a clear piece of glass.  I needed the four layers, so I could use the drop ring and raise it on the kiln shelf enough to make a vase.  While I am writing this, I am watching the glass as it falls through the ring and will eventually fall to the kiln shelf.  I want the vase to have a base that will be able to stand on its own.  This process takes awhile.

I will take a picture and post it to my next post, if it turns out ok.  Well, if it doesn’t turn out, I can still post a picture and show you glass projects that don’t turn out right.

Christine

Check out my Fused Glass Art!

www.mastersglassart.com

Check out my other Glass Blog!

www.mastersglassart.blogspot.com

2 Responses to “I am making a drop ring vase.”

  1. julian Says:

    Hi! Great stuff. Do you have an image of the piece you made with that yellow glass lace (that looks like a slice of cheese)?

    Thanks,
    Julian

    • glassart Says:

      Hi Julian,

      Thanks for your kind words about my fused glass! I fused the yellow glass lace to some purple glass and then made a drop ring vase out of it.

      Thanks for your question!

      Christine


Leave a Reply

