Taking Great Pictures of My Glass Items – Part 2

bowl-six-lobed-amber-swirl-2.jpg

When my husband did a search for light boxes, he found this website: www.instructables.com   You will need to do a search for “Super Simple Light Tent.”  There are instructions on how to make a simple and cheap light box.

The directions said to cut out a large box and leave just a skeleton.  Then you need to wrap three sides of the box with a semi-transparent material, such as sign printing grade Tyvek.  A piece of white bristol board is cut to fit the box and placed in the bottom of the light box and curved upwards to the top of the back part of the box.  This gives a nice background to take your pictures.

We also found another great website, www.tabletopstudio.com, that features an EZ Cube.  This is a fancy version of the “Super Simple Light Box.”  The website has a lot of great ideas and products for taking great pictures of glass.  We decided to buy a light stand that included a Day Light compact fluorescent bulb.  We bought a second bulb and used a standard light shield with a clamp for easy maneuverability.

I have been taking much better pictures now.  There is much less glare on the glass and there is a nice consistent background (I haven’t bought the Tyvek or the bristol board yet.  Right now, I am using a sheet of white cotton fabric.)  Some glass items are still hard to get a great picture of, so I need to try different things.  However, overall, my pictures are much better.  Check out the pictures on my website: www.mastersglassart.com

I still need to take better pictures of some glass on my website.  I just haven’t gotten around to doing it yet.

A friend of mine also suggested that I use a tripod and take pictures with a higher f-stop, so everything is in focus.  I had a lot of trouble with my pendants and earrings coming out blurry, but this technique is working so much better.  Thanks Ali!

Hope this helps you with your photos!  Send a comment if you have any questions!

Christine

Check out my other Glass Blog!

www.mastersglassart.blogspot.com

2 Responses to “Taking Great Pictures of My Glass Items – Part 2”

  1. Patty Says:

    Christine –

    I am also a glass artist, and I’m having a really tough time with taking pictures of my work. Thanks for the info! What kind of camera do you use? I’ve been told that I should get one with a high ISO number, but I didn’t know if all of that matters as much as the lighting conditions and background used to take the picture. Any thoughts on camera options and/or features?

    Thanks – Patty K.

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Patty,

    I have an Olympus digital camera. It gives you the option to use manual mode. It is a few years old, but still works great. I don’t know why you were told that you should get a camera with a high ISO number. I have three ISO numbers on my camera and when I am taking pictures of glass, I use the lowest ISO which is 100. This takes pictures with the highest resolution. I also change the record mode resolution from HQ to SHQ, for the same reason.

    I also think that the lighting conditions and background are more important. A low ISO and changing from HQ to SHQ helps when cropping the photos, so you don’t get grainy pictures.

    I hope this helps!
    Christine


Leave a Reply

