Tutorial – Finishing Up the Glass Pendant

Now the two pieces of glass are ready to be fused in the kiln.  I have a manual ceramic kiln, so my firing schedule won’t be the same for your kiln, so I won’t include my firing schedule.   If you would like to know my firing schedule, just send me an email and I will share it with you.   I will tell you that I fire it up to 1475 degrees and hold it for 10 minutes for the glass to flatten out and also for the entire glass pendant to reach the same temperature. The kiln needs to cool off very slowly.  This is called annealing which gives the fused glass pendant durability and strength and it won’t crack in a year or so.  If you aren’t familiar with an annealing schedule, let me know and I can help.

I used a heavy duty epoxy to glue the bail onto the back of the glass pendant and now it is ready to wear.  Let me know if you have any questions, I will be happy to help as much as I can. 

Good Luck!!

Christine

Check out our Fused Glass Creations!

www.mastersglassart.com

Check out my other Glass Blog!

www.mastersglassart.blogspot.com

2 Responses to “Tutorial – Finishing Up the Glass Pendant”

  1. Julie Says:

    Hello Christine,

    I was wondering if you could tell me what your firing schedule is for glass pendants with and without dichro glass? Also, what glue do you use for attaching the bails?

    Your help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    • Christine Masters Says:

      Hi Julie,

      I just read some good information about fusing pendants on this website: http://kaiserglass.com/tutorials.html and click on “Jewelry Fusing Made Easy.” I use the same schedule whether the pendant has dichroic glass in it or not.

      I use Triolyse glue, which I buy from delphiglass.com. I have found that this glue has the least amount of fails. I know a lot of other people use E-6000, which is a good glue, too, and is easier to find. I have seen it at Michaels and JoAnn Fabrics.

      I hope this helps!
      Christine


Leave a Reply

