Blue Daisy Sun Catcher

sun-catcher-blue-daisy.jpg

I really love this fused glass sun catcher!  Check out the blue petals.  Can you see different colors?  The glass I used has an iridized coating, a metallic coating that shows different colors as you move it around a light source.

 I fused two layers of clear glass for the background.  I made templates for each of the pieces of the flower and cut and ground the glass to get the shapes you see.  After arranging the pieces, I put the whole glass piece into the kiln and fired it up to about 1400 degrees to get a medium fuse.  I wanted the flower pieces to have some dimension, instead of fusing the pieces until everything was flat.  

Christine

Check out my Glass Website — the link is in the About Me section.

4 Responses to “Blue Daisy Sun Catcher”

  1. Helen Says:

    Love this suncatcher! It is so simple, yet so lovely.

    Enjoy looking at all your work.

  2. glassart Says:

    Thanks for the sweet comment! It made my day!
    Christine

  3. Karen Says:

    Hi, I love your blog and all of the instructions. Can’t wait to try them. Can you tell me how you drilled the holes in this piece. Also, on your pendants, you glue on the bails. Can you tell me what glue you use. Thanks so much for your help. Karen

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Karen,

    Thanks for your wonderful comments about my blog!! I’m glad I have provided inspiration to you and I hope to others, too.

    To drill the holes in this sun catcher, I used a dremel with a diamond bit. Make sure you drill the holes under running water to keep the diamond bit cool. You don’t want it to overheat. Drill very slowly, you don’t need to apply much pressure — let the drill do the work for you. I drilled the holes before the last firing, so the edges of the holes would be fire polished. However, you need to add a small piece of rolled up shelf paper in the hole, so it doesn’t fill in during the final fusing.

    The adhesive I use to attach the bails to the pendants is an epoxy. I have been using Loctite epoxy. I have tried other adhesives like E6000, but have found that the epoxy is stronger. I also use my dremel to roughen up the glass and the bail. This makes the bond even stronger.

    If you have any other questions, I am always happy to help!

    Have Fun Fusing!!
    Christine


Leave a Reply

