Glass Tutorial: Drop Ring Mold Vase: Part 3

You were probably wondering if I was going to show you a picture of the Drop Ring Glass Vase by itself!! I thought I would give you a little suspense. Anyway, here is a photo of the glass vase.
candle-vase-clear-tack-fused-colors.jpg

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out my other Fused Glass!!  The link to my website is in the About Me section.

9 Responses to “Glass Tutorial: Drop Ring Mold Vase: Part 3”

  1. Kelley Says:

    Love your drop ring vase. I’m a newbie and just got my first kiln the small skutt (not firebox) and was wondering if you would share your firing schedule. Also, since the elements are in the kiln lid – will that effect how it would turn out? thank your for your time

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Kelley,

    Thanks for the compliment on my drop ring vase!! Someone just bought it at the last Art Festival. I want to make another one like it, but use some different colors.

    I will send you an email with my firing schedule.

    Thanks for contacting me!
    Christine

  3. Nina Diecidue Says:

    Your vase is stunning. I tried one but only used 1 piece of glass and the glass accents I used were UGLY!!! Now I know why after seeing what you used for yours…the Long Rods and Stringers are the key.

    Do you share your firing schedules like you share your knowledge? I have a Jen-Kin glass kiln with Auto Controller.

    I’m enjoying all your past Blogs/Newsletters. Thank you for all the tips and help.

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Nina,

    Thanks for your kind words about my glass vase!

    I chose these three colors by looking at a color wheel and choosing the triad colors (I think that is the right word).

    I am not familiar with your kiln. I use a Skutt 1414 or a Cress kiln.

    I mentioned some of my temperatures and hold times in Part 1 of this Glass Tutorial. Anyway, all kilns are different, so you need to experiment to get the best results with your kiln. After saying that, I will give you my schedule to use as a starting point:

    400 750 .01
    600 1200 60 (this tack fuses the pieces to the clear)
    600 1330 hold til it drops the way you like it
    9999 960 30
    150 700 .01

    Other people have different schedules, so I don’t want to say that this is the only way to fire this glass vase.

    I hope this helps!

    Christine

  5. Nana Says:

    I absolutely LOVE this vase!
    I loved how you added additional texture to it besides the slight bumpiness of the glass!

  6. glassart Says:

    Hi Nana,
    Thanks so much for the compliment about this vase! I had a lot of fun making it. I just sold it a few months ago and it was sad to see it go…

    I always tell myself that I can make another one, but I haven’t yet. I want to try a different color combination next time.

    Thanks,
    Christine

  7. Charles L. Best Says:

    I really appreciate your sharing your drop ring technique. I am new at glass fusing and read everything I can get about technique. I have just learned about weaving and have been fairly successful with that and now with your tutorial I will try the drop ring vase. I love all of your glass work and appreciate your generosity. Thank you.
    Charlie Best

  8. Christine Masters Says:

    Hi Charles,

    Thanks so much for the compliment about my Tutorial about Drop Out Ring Vases! I am glad to help!

    Christine

  9. Kolitsoe Says:

    Hi Christine,

    I am fairly new in this, Christine and you explain things so beautifully. Can you recommend a step by step illustrated book about the basic firing glass in a kiln. And also can you use everyday word for words like ‘tack’, you know when you are learning even simple words sounds like big ones. Right now, from the part tutorials, I know how to use the drop ring mold. I do not have a kiln yet.
    I thank you too for your gracious heart, giving without receiving anything in return, except our thank you.
    Kolitsoe


Leave a Reply

