I Made Some Glass Lace

red-glass-lace.jpg

I made three different kinds of glass lace the other day.  This one I used an oval stencil and poured some glass frit inside the stencil.  The trick is to get the amount of glass frit on the kiln shelf for the look you want to achieve.  After getting all the glass frit on the kiln shelf, I fire the kiln.  I usually fire it pretty fast, since I don’t need to worry about thermal shock with the tiny pieces of glass.  I take it up to 1450-1475 degrees and watch it closely, so I get the look that I want.  If you over fire it, the holes get bigger and the glass fuses together into larger lines.  I have quite a few examples of these 🙂  which is why I have learned to watch it very closely.

I really like how this red one turned out.  I plan on fusing it to a layer of vanilla glass and a layer of clear glass.  The next day I will use a drop ring mold and make a vase.

Christine – Glass Artist

Check out my Fused Glass Creations!!

www.mastersglassart.com

11 Responses to “I Made Some Glass Lace”

  1. Mavis Says:

    i would like to know where you learn making glass..=D it’s kool

  2. glassart Says:

    I took a class to learn how to slump a glass bowl and also how to use my kiln at the same time. After that, I just learned by trial and error. I do a lot of research on the Internet to find more techniques to try.

    If you want to learn, definitely take a beginning class in Fused Glass or Fused Glass Jewelry, depending on what kind of glass you want to make. There is a relatively high learning curve, so if you take a comprehensive class, you will be able to make glass without too much difficulty.

    I hope I answered your question!
    Christine

  3. Courtney Says:

    Christine,

    Very impressed by your work, good for you! I have been doing glass for a while, but have not had the time to experiment like you are doing, I am envious. Anyway, I really appreciate your advice, and willingness to give it. I would love to get a little more info on this glass lace thing? What kind of stencil do you use? I am thinking of trying to use some drop molds, I have a few but have never used them because I didn’t know how. Now I will try using your tips as notes. One other thing, when you slump into the drop molds, what temp do you go to, and hold at. I do know every kiln is different, but it would help give me an idea. Thanks so much, good luck in the future!

    Courtney

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Courtney,

    Thanks so much for your wonderfully kind words!!

    I learned how to make glass lace from this website: http://jimwolverton.com/html/lace.html.

    The stencil I used for the red glass lace was just a piece of cardstock. I made the oval shape using Microsoft Paint Software, printed it out and then cut it out. A thicker material would be better, but it works for me.

    As far as the drop molds, I fire the kiln to 1300 degrees and hold it there until the drop ring has slumped.

    Thanks again,
    Christine

  5. Courtney Says:

    Thanks so much for your reply Christine, I so appreciate it, and am excited to try this!

  6. shoozles Says:

    OMG Christine did you see my glass lace too? so goo to meet you 🙂

  7. glassart Says:

    Where is your glass lace? I didn’t see it when I was looking at your sites.

    Christine

  8. shoozles Says:

    Christine What do you do with your glass lace? I made it then couldn’t find a good use for it LOL since it is so delicate ya know? I tried to fuse mine to a pendant but it lost it’s appeal. you think a sun catcher?

  9. glassart Says:

    I fuse my glass lace to other glass for a design element. I have mostly used mine for drop rings. Check out my website. You’ll see glass lace in a number of places, such as the Gallery, Glass Vases, and Glass Pendants. I did fuse some yellow lace to a black piece of glass and slumped it into a sushi plate mold. I don’t have it on the website right now.

    There are so many things you can do with it. You need to get a bigger kiln, so you can make some bigger glass projects 🙂
    Christine

  10. How to Get Six Pack Fast Says:

    I read your posts for quite a long time and should tell you that your posts always prove to be of a high value and quality for readers.

  11. Christine Masters Says:

    Thank you very much! What a nice thing to say!

    Christine


Leave a Reply

