Glass Lace Technique

Black and Red Glass Lace

I put a layer of clear frit (small pieces of glass) on the kiln shelf and then I sprinkled some black glass powder on some of the clear and I did the same with some red glass powder. 

After firing this one, I noticed some interesting things that happened with the black and red glass powder. 

Black and Red Lace - a close-up view

In some areas, the red powder fused together and made some interesting lines or “veining.”  The same thing happened with the black powder, too.  I am going to try more of these to see what happens.

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

7 Responses to “Glass Lace Technique”

  1. billly booo Says:

    WOAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!!!!! oh my god! I LOVE this!! it just looks like blood splattered on the wall!
    Im am currently a fashion student and i came across your website and you are SUCH A INSPARATION!! If you dont mind i am going have you as one of my insparational artist in my sketchbook, this piece of work has given me so many ideas, it fits in perfecctly with what i have based my work on (blood and guts, luvlay!!)

    pleaaaaaaaaaaase dont stop making gorjusssssss pieces of work because there absolutely fabulous!

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Billy Booo,

    Wow! Thanks so much for all your wonderful compliments!! You really made my day!!

    I would love to be an artist in your sketchbook. I don’t know what that means, but it sounds good. You’ll have to tell me more about it.

    I am also so glad that my glass pieces are such an inspiration for you and your work!! You’ll have to tell me more about your work, too.

    Send me an email at dmasters@wildblue.net and tell me more about yourself and your work!!

    Thanks again for all your wonderfully kind words!!
    Christine

  3. Cathy Says:

    This is really beautiful. I am not sure I understand how you stencil the glass into the lace pattern?

    Lovely!

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Cathy,

    I’m not sure what you mean by your question.

    However, I do use a stencil for the outer portion of the glass lace. For example, I used a round plastic hoop (usually used for crafts) to make the glass lace in this post. I use these hoops to make a piece of glass lace that is round and a certain diameter. I have also made my own stencil that is oval to make a piece of glass lace that is oval shaped.

    Otherwise, I don’t do anything with the frit, besides using the right amount to get the effect that I want. Fusing the glass frit is what makes the glass lace effect. You don’t want to put too much frit on the kiln shelf, because then you will get a nice piece of whole glass! The Tutorial will explain everything for you!

    I hope I answered your question! Let me know if you have any other questions!
    Christine

  5. towdesignTerry Says:

    can you give me an idea of schedule? I’ve tried this 3 times and can’t get it to look right. The first time I used a red opaque glass and I just pushed the powder around and the wholes came out good but too much of the kiln wash stuck to the bottom of the glass lace and it kind of curled up. I went 1000/hr to 1420 held for 30 min. Next time thinking that clear glass on the bottom will not stick to the kiln wash as much I used 1500/ hr to 1420 held for 10 min and there were very little lace effects. Maybe I used too much clear powder? I would appreciate any help as I am getting frustrated. I want some lace effects to make small jewelry pieces. About how many layers of powder do you use? What is the schedule and any other hints would be wonderful. Thank you. Terry Ow-Wing https://www.glassart.weebly.com

  6. Lesley Says:

    same question really – my lace just had 4 or 5 holes in. I am spreading the frit until it is around 1/4 inch deep and then whacking up to 800 ish holding for 10 mins and straight down (my likn cools so slowly anyway). But so few holes. I have tried reducing the amount of frit but should I also increase my hold time?

  7. Eti Says:

    What a beauty! How glass is not stuck on the shelf?


Leave a Reply

