Yellow Daisy Pendant

Yellow Daisy Pendant

 

 I love flowers!  I thought I would make a pendant that had a flower on it.  It is just a simple daisy, but it took a lot of work to cut, score and grind each of the little pieces. 

I love the final product! 

Tell me what you think of it!!

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

5 Responses to “Yellow Daisy Pendant”

  1. gaylac Says:

    I just found your blog. I love your work! It is amazing! I just started working glass. I took a class where we made fused glass pendants and made glass beads. I was hooked. I purchased a beginners bead making kit yesterday and have to get my work area set up before I can use it. I want to purchase a kiln so that I can make fused glass pendants and more. I’ve been looking at the Paragon kilns, but I see you use another kind. Could you tell me the differences between the kilns? I’m also wanting to get into stained glass. How did you get into the glass slumping? I’ve never seen anything like it. It is so cool. I’m glad I find you blogs. They give me so much info. Thanks.
    Gayla

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Gayla,

    Thanks for all your kind words about my glass art! I’m glad you found my blogs, too. Keep coming back to read my new postings and please leave feedback with any questions or comments. Interaction is what blogging is all about!!

    I’d love to hear how you progress with your new craft!!

    I got into fusing and slumping glass when I saw several demonstrations of it on tv. I was very curious. Then one day I walked by a glass shop in the town where we do a lot of our shopping. The owner invited me in — even though they had just closed. He answered all the questions I had and told me about their classes. I told him I would need to think about it, but the ball just kept on rolling. Another day the glass shop owner told us about a kiln that was for sale at a garage sale. We worked hard trying to figure out how to get in touch with the people to ask about the kiln.

    To make a long story short, we bought the kiln for $80 and it is an old Skutt 181, made for ceramics, but it works for glass, too.

    I have to admit that I don’t know anything about Paragon kilns. Since we bought our first Skutt kiln, we talked with people from the Skutt Company (www.skutt.com) on the phone and they were very helpful.

    When it was time for us to get another kiln, we had been looking at all the kilns that Skutt makes, they make glass kilns, too. One time, we were in a ceramics store in Portland, Oregon called Georgies Ceramic and Clay Company (www.georgies.com) and saw the new Skutt Firebox kiln. It is small and i great for making pendants or other small items. The chamber is 8″ square and a few inches high.

    After we got our taxes back this year, we decided to buy one or two new kilns. I needed a new kiln, because my old Skutt kiln is manual and I need to keep track of the time and increase the temps. at the right time. This was taking up a lot of my time, so I was desperately wanting a controller on my new kilns.

    We went into Georgie’s Ceramic store for a kiln post and saw that they had all Skutt kilns on sale for 20% off. We figured someone was telling us to buy the Skutt kilns we were looking at. I’m sure you saw the two new kilns we bought in a couple of my previous posts.

    Well, that was probably more than you wanted to know! I suggest that you go to the Warm Glass Forum (www.warmglass.com) and do several searches for Paragon kilns or buying a new kiln, etc. There is so much information on this website. Take advantage of all the knowledge that is there!

    Keep me posted about you glass projects!

    Christine

  3. Julee Says:

    Hi.
    Is this pendant for sale? How big is it? How much is it?
    Thanks,
    Julee

  4. nz Says:

    It looks like 5 sunny side up fried eggs – sorry! Middle yolk is overcooked.


Leave a Reply

