Art Festival is Over

Ashland Art Festival Booth 2007

The Art Festival was last weekend and I am still recovering 🙂  I had a lot of fun talking to people about my glass art, but I didn’t have much fun packing and unpacking and packing again.  It was a lot of work for me.  I learned that I need to change my booth lay-out to make it easier and faster to pack and unpack by myself.

I grossed the most at this Festival than at any other craft fair I have done, but I am not rich by any means 🙂

The photo is of my booth, my first outdoor booth.  What do you think?  Any ideas for me to make it easier to pack and unpack?

I have some ideas, so my husband and I will need to figure out what we want to do for my next Craft Fair, which happens to be in August.

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

2 Responses to “Art Festival is Over”

  1. Ali Says:

    The best way I’ve found to pack and unpack is to get the big plastic bins with covers from Home Depot, then get the little platform they sell with wheels. Wrap everything and pack it into the bins (the foam sheets from when you get your glass in the mail work great). Stack the bins on the wheel base and roll em along.

    Ali

  2. glassart Says:

    Ali,

    Thanks for the great ideas! I do pack my glass in large bins and I have a cart for when I need to park my car away from my booth.

    The Festival in Brookings a week ago, I was able to park my car right by my booth and unpack everything, which was much easier.

    It takes me a long time to put up and take down my canopy. It also takes me awhile to put the wire shelving unit together and take it down. I didn’t use this shelving unit for the Brookings Festival. Instead, Dave and I built a wood shelving unit that sets up behind the 6′ table. The pieces are lighter in weight and easier to set up.

    What I really need is a cargo trailer! We have a small trailer, so it is harder to pack everything.

    Christine


Leave a Reply

