Red Glass Plate

Red Glass Plate with Clear Iridescense

The clear iridescence on this plate is so cool!! 

First, I fused a layer of Red Bullseye 90, a layer of Clear and a layer of the Clear Collage Irid from Bullseye.  I fused the irid face down on the kiln shelf to keep the collage effect.  Then I draped it over a plate mold.  If you aren’t familiar with draping, it is similar to slumping.  However, the glass lays on top of the mold and when the glass softens, the glass falls or drapes down over the mold.  I draped this plate to keep the collage effect.  If the irid is fused face up, a lot of the texture and colors aren’t quite the same.  I really like this effect.

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

4 Responses to “Red Glass Plate”

  1. Cindy Gaffron Says:

    I belong also the the Yahoo list Glass Fusion and saw your web-site after your name in a message.
    I am spending much time here reading all that you have wrote.
    Living in rural Florida I too find it hard to get to classes and am having to teach my self as you did, trial and error.
    Please know that someone appreciates all the time you have taken to write about what you have made.
    I have learned alot tonight and wanted to tell you that I love your glass and REALLY apprciate that you have written so much about each piece.
    Thank you for giving so much of your time. Your not just selling glass, you are sharing of yourself and I am in your debt.
    Cindy in Florida

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Cindy,

    Thank you so much for your kind words!! I love talking about glass and the projects that I do!

    I’m so glad you are learning from my blog posts!! If you ever have any questions about anything, don’t hesitate to ask.

    Thanks again,
    Christine

  3. Ali Says:

    I love the texture on this piece, it’s yummy!!

  4. glassart Says:

    Thanks Ali,

    I had a lot of fun making this plate!

    Christine


Leave a Reply

