Iridized Glass Basketweave Plate

Glass Basketweave Plate

I love doing glass basketweave pieces!!  I really fell in love with this glass plate when I pulled it out of the kiln and saw how it turned out.

The strips were cut from Spectrum 96 Hi-Fire Black Iridescent Glass — I just love this glass!  Anyway, I layered the strips to give the illusion of a basketweave and then I did a dimensional fuse — I wanted to keep some dimension to the strips.  In another firing, I fused two pieces of clear glass together.  When both parts were ready, I did another dimensional fuse.  When that was done, I slumped it into a plate mold. 

Now, I have a question for all of you reading this post.  Does anyone have any idea what happened next to this glass piece?

I really want to get some of your ideas.  How about we play a game?  If you post a reply with a guess as to what happened to my glass plate and include your email address, I will send you a photo of what happened to my plate. 

If you don’t make a guess, then you won’t know what happened to my plate!!

 Go ahead…………leave a comment…………..it’s easy

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

24 Responses to “Iridized Glass Basketweave Plate”

  1. Babette Says:

    Christine –

    I think the woven plate was used to hold your business cards when you are at a show. How’s that for a guess?

    BTW, may I ask you a question. I often get glass grunge (ring around the collar) after grinding the edge. How do I keep this junk offa there? I don’t notice it when I put my piece in the kiln, but after slumping to be sure the gray junk is right there on the edge. I asked a teacher at a stained glass shop here in McKinney, TX and she said the answer to that is in my Intermediate class. Harumph! How bold! and no answer.

    Can you help?

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Babette,

    Thanks for making a guess about my glass basketweave plate!! Unfortunately, your answer is not correct. I will send you a photo of my plate, but don’t share it with anyone, because that would be the end of the guessing game!!

    Please send your email address to: dmasters@wildblue.net.

    I will try to help you with your question. Do you wash your glass before you put it in the kiln? I use glass cleaner to clean my glass right before I fire it.

    You probably just need to get those ground edges extra clean. I read somewhere that someone uses a toothbrush to clean the ground edges. Give that a try!

    If there is someone reading this post that has a solution to Babette’s problem, please leave a comment!!

    I don’t know why some people hold back information. It’s just not very good customer service.

    Christine

  3. chronicler Says:

    I hate to guess in the negative, but stress fracture? I am enjoying reading about your adventures in glass. In fact I’ve been doing some new things as you’ve inspired me to try some different things. Neat!

  4. glassart Says:

    Stress fracture? No that is not right either. Thanks for the guess!! I will send you a photo of my plate.

    Thanks for the compliments about my blog!! I’m really glad I have inspired you to try new things. We all need to try different things to keep those creative juices running! 🙂

    Christine

  5. Liquid Fire Says:

    I’m new to this, but so impressed with this piece of art that my novice guess would be that it took first prize at an exhibition?

  6. glassart Says:

    Hi Liquid Fire,

    Thanks for your guess and thanks so much for your wonderful guess. Unfortunately, that is not the correct answer.

    Keep guessing!

    Christine

  7. glassart Says:

    Hi Chronicler,

    I have sent you a couple of messages that included the photo I told you that I would send to you, but your emails come back to me. Please send me another email address to dmasters@wildblue.net if you would like to see the photo of the plate.

    Thanks,
    Christine

  8. Randi Says:

    Hi,

    I just love the look of this basket weave! Did the weave get stretched out where it slumped down into the mold??

    I’m so curious…I can’t wait to see the picture of how it actually turned out!

    Thanks,
    Randi

  9. Nancy B Says:

    Hi Christine,
    I’m late to this game – and new to fused glass. I’m just starting to appreciate the addictive nature of it. I also like to experiment with shapes. My first attempt at a basket weave – I tried to create a bird’s nest with a home made mold. Let’s just say it was not one of those “happy accidents” that I read about in the fusing books. While I haven’t revisited my original idea, I have had some good results with woven pieces.

    I don’t know if you’re still looking for guesses but this is the first time I’ve found your marvelous web site. So here goes…..you donated your plate for a fund raiser at a local art school (church, charity??) And if I’m right, I’ll bet it brought in a tidy sum. It’s a beauty.

    Nancy B

  10. Christine Masters Says:

    Hi Nancy,

    Wow! I love your idea about what happened to my glass plate! I wish you were right about it. However, that is not what happened to it.

    Please send me your email address if you would like to know what happened to my glass plate.

    I haven’t told anyone, yet, except the people who have posted a comment here.

    Christine

  11. Kathy Says:

    I am guessing that someone loved it so much, it got stolen.

  12. glassart Says:

    Hi Kathy,
    What a nice thing to say about my plate! However, that is not what happened. I will send you an email explaining what really happened.
    Christine

  13. Amy Says:

    I would guess it got bubbles. I love bubbles.

  14. Christine Says:

    Yes, the clear glass did have some small bubbles, but that is not the correct answer.
    Christine

  15. Carol Says:

    Did you drop the plate and break it? Hoping that’s not the right answer….it looks really nice. I do stained glass and would love to learn kiln work. Where does one go to learn this art? Thanks.

  16. glassart Says:

    I did not drop the plate. Sorry…

    A great place to learn kiln work are stained glass shops. A lot of times, they are starting to learn about fusing and slumping glass. If there is not one close by, try looking for a class somewhere else. A class for a beginner is a very good idea, because it is hard to learn everything from a book or two.

    I took one class to learn how to slump a bowl and learn how to operate a kiln. However, after that, I learned from a couple of books and from various places on the Internet.

    Working with glass is a lot of fun 🙂
    Christine

  17. Lisa Says:

    I think you gave it away as a wedding present or it’s on display at a museum with some of your other artwork.

    It’s a great piece. Iridescent glass is my favorite. I do cold stained glasswork but I’m slowly getting into fusing and slumping.

  18. erica tiger Says:

    how much do you sell your basket weave plates for? my guess is that someone famous bought it.

  19. Christine Says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Thanks for your kind words about my glass plate!

    Unfortunately, your guess is not what happened to my plate. I will send you a separate email.

    Thanks for guessing!
    Christine

  20. Christine Says:

    Hi Erica,

    I have one of the basketweave glass plates on my website: http://www.mastersglassart.com/catalog280810.html and it costs $150 plus shipping and handling. I do have other basketweave projects that I haven’t had time to put on the website, yet.

    I love your guess!! Unfortunately, your guess is incorrect. I wish that someone famous bought it!

    Christine

  21. Lauri Says:

    The scenario…………..Donald Trump wants to buy it(cuz he likes shiny things), but he realizes that it’s not truly a “real” basketweave”, just an illusion of a basket weave, and then he calls the Glass Police and they haul you away til you tell the secret of how you made it look like a basketweave;then, an imposter type takes your idea and makes an even bigger plate and Donald Trump buys it and you’re out a sale, but then, the clear glass you used was just some float glass that you had lying around , from somewhere, and because the coefficient rate of expansion was different than that of the iridescent basketweave, the whole thing cracked and you’re glad that Donald Trump didn’t buy it after all.

  22. glassart Says:

    Hi Lauri,

    I absolutely love your scenario!! It is so funny — I got a great laugh out of it and that is a good thing!!

    Donald Trump never did call about wanting my basket weave plate, bummer. But, you are very close to figuring out what happened to my plate! I am calling you the winner! Instead of using float glass for the clear, I used COE 90 and COE 96 for the basket weave strips. Each corner of the plate broke off and I have five pieces. I am thinking of putting all five pieces up on a wall for an abstract art piece.

    Congratulations!

    Christine

  23. Megan Says:

    Hi

    Did the glass suffer from devitrification? I have found at times this happens when you fire diochroic glass several times….. Am about to make my own weaved platter so would love to know what happened to your?

    Yours
    Megan


Leave a Reply

