Blue Island Glass Plate

Blue Island Glass Plate

The Blue Island Glass Plate was a lot of fun to make.  First I cut strips out for the borders and I even mitered the corners for a smooth border.  Then I placed the border over two layers of clear glass.  The final addition was the square in the middle.  I fused the whole thing face down and when it came  out of the kiln, I needed to grind the edges.  So, I did a fire polish with plate face up and then slumped it.

I have made some smaller versions of this plate.  I was working my way up in size as I learned from each glass plate and how they turned out.

How do you like it?

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

3 Responses to “Blue Island Glass Plate”

  1. chronicler Says:

    I really like the look of this plate! Does mitering the corners eliminate the seam I get when seaming with square corners? Or is there a technique you use when mitering?

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Chronicler,

    I have found that mitering the corners has helped eliminate the seam. However, I have been mitering the corners of all these types of plates once I got a disk grinder to help the edges of glass meet more precisely. Also, fusing the layers face down does help with the seams, too. You’ll want to do a little experimenting to see what works for you.

    Thanks,
    Christine

  3. chronicler Says:

    Thank you Christine. I haven’t ever fired anything face down. I’ll have to try it out!


Leave a Reply

