Fused Starling Castle Wine Bottle

Starling Wine Bottle Fused

                                             

Fused Starling Crown Wine Bottle up-close

I fused the Starling Castle Wine Bottle just like I fuse the Grey Goose and Belvedere Vodka Bottles.  The beautiful picture of the Castle and the vineyards show up wonderfully.  Right now, we only have two of these bottles.  I think they will be harder to find than the Grey Goose Vodka Bottles, but we will keep our eyes open for them.

Christine — Glass Artist

www.mastersglassart.com

21 Responses to “Fused Starling Castle Wine Bottle”

  1. chronicler Says:

    WOW that turned out neat. I really thought the label would suffer in the heat, but it looks great.

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Chronicler,

    The secret to fusing this particular wine bottle is that it doesn’t have a regular paper or other similar type of label! The design on the wine bottle is made out of glass enamel or something similar and doesn’t burn off in the kiln.

    It is very similar to Grey Goose Vodka Bottles, Belvedere Vodka Bottles and other bottles where there is not a label. We really enjoy fusing these types of bottles, because they are so unique and keep the design even after it is fused. Other people are really fascinated by these fused bottles!

    Christine

  3. Leah Metz Says:

    I tried a beer bottle that the label was painted on and all the color washed out to a white. How do I know which bottles have painted labels and which bottles are painted with a glass enamel?

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Leah,

    I haven’t fused a bottle that had a painted label. You’ll just have to experiment, but the glass enamel is etched into the bottle rather than painted on top. I hope that helps.
    Christine

  5. Ernie Martin Says:

    Does anyone know how to remove the back label from a bottle of
    STARLING CASTLE ? I tried putting it in 99.7 percent sulfiric acid over night and it didn’t do anything ! i have a photo i would like to have on the back side of the bottle. Anyone know how to do that ?
    thanks E-mail me if you know how !
    ernie
    leewalt@powerbank,net

  6. glassart Says:

    Hi Ernie,

    It is going to be very difficult to remove the glass enamel etched into the back of the Starling Winery Bottle. I suppose you could try to sandblast it off and then fire polish the bottle. I haven’t ever done any sandblasting, so I don’t know how it would turn out.

    Christine

  7. Donna Seel Says:

    Do you cut any of the top off of the wine or liquor bottle before fusing? Do you do a full fuse or a slump?

  8. glassart Says:

    Hi Donna,
    I don’t cut the tops off of bottles, but it can be done.

    For this bottle, I did a full fuse. It lays completely flat and can be hung on the wall.

    Christine

  9. shoozles Says:

    cool! I wish I had room for a bigger kiln LOL

  10. Learn To Fuse a Wine Bottle | Wine Bottle Holders Says:

    […] Fused Starling Castle Wine Bottle « Masters Glass Art […]

  11. Julie Lobenz Says:

    My name is Julie. I’ve never worked with glass and am looking for some impute on a project I just started. I slumped some wine bottles in my mothers ceramic doll kiln. Now I want to put the original labels back on the backs of these so that they show through from the front. Do you know of anything I can use to reattach them. Preferably something that will leave the label water proof. Any input would be really appreciated.
    Thank you,
    Julie Lobenzana

  12. glassart Says:

    Hi Julie,

    I use a regular household glue, like Elmer’s, to glue the label back on the bottle. I apply four layers of a food safe varnish to protect and waterproof the label.

    Thanks,
    Christine

  13. Marusca Says:

    Hi Christine! Just tried to fuse some little Coronita bottles for Christmas Ornaments but the white on the bottles burned off. I’ve been using your fuse schedule and it works great for the Goose & Belvedere bottles – even fused a Pama (Pommegranite liquor) bottle and that turned out fabulous. Do you know or have you experimented with other schedules that wouldn’t burn off the white? It’s probably a low grade paint that can’t take the heat! Hope all is well in your world… keep fusing!
    All the best, Marusca

    • glassart Says:

      Hi Marusca,

      Good to hear from you! Glad you are having success with those bottles!

      Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find a different schedule to prevent labels from turning to powder. I think you are correct. They just used a low grade paint.

      Thanks,

      Christine

  14. Denise Gehrke Says:

    Hello, what is the food safe varnish used to keep the labels on the bottles. I like to put them on clear or amber colored but have not had much success Thank you.

  15. Denise Gehrke Says:

    what do I use to get kiln wash off the bottles. Using kiln paper is too expensive.

  16. Linda Says:

    I would also like to know what type of varnish is food safe or what you would use to reapply the label to the bottle that would be food safe. Everything I am finding is not considered food safe.

  17. GZ Says:

    The picture on the bottle makes me wonder my castle Neuschwanstein is depicted in a in a field of grapevine…


Leave a Reply

