How I Made That Blue and Almond Glass Vase

I told you that I would explain how I made the Glass Vase from the last post.

First, I made some cobalt blue opal glass lace.  It took me a few tries to get a nice looking piece 🙂

I cut three circles, about 7″ in diameter, one of 96 Almond Opal Glass, another of 96 Clear Glass, and another of 96 Hi Fire Black Irid Glass.  I fused all three circles with the blue lace on top of the Almond Opal Glass.  The Black Irid Glass was on the bottom and the clear glass in the middle.

To make the vase, I used my 9″ drop ring mold and propped it up 6″ with kiln posts.  I placed the fused circle on the mold with the blue glass lace on the bottom and the black irid glass on top.  I used my standard firing schedule for drop rings.  As I was watching it drop, I noticed that the glass was not nicely rounded like it should be.  I couldn’t figure out why it was kind of blotchy (is that the right term?).  Anyway, it must have been because I used the black irid glass.  I have made several glass vases with glass lace and they didn’t come out like this one.

The middle to upper part of the glass vase is a dark color because the Almond Glass thinned out at this point exposing the black irid glass.  I didn’t know that this was going to happen — quite a surprise!

If you look inside the glass vase, you will see a very pretty black irid glass.  It turned into many beautiful colors.

Black Iridescent Glass inside the Blue and Almond Glass Vase

Tell me what you think of my glass vase!  Do you like it or do you think it is pretty ugly? 

I’d love to get comments about it!

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out my Glass Website!  The link is in the About Me Section in the upper right corner.

4 Responses to “How I Made That Blue and Almond Glass Vase”

  1. chronicler Says:

    I love it! I’d like to see it reversed also. That would make a cool set.

  2. LauraP Says:

    I don’t know what you mean by ‘glass lace’. Can you explain a little further? And maybe even show photos of the ‘glass lace’ only.

  3. glassart Says:

    Hi Laura,

    Thanks for contacting me!

    Glass lace is something that I make using glass frit — small pieces of glass. I pour the glass frit onto the kiln shelf, but not enough to make a solid piece of glass. I add less, so the glass will pull together in some areas and leave holes in other areas.

    Check out this post: https://glassart.wordpress.com/2007/05/24/. This shows two pictures of glass lace all by themselves.

    Let me know if you have any more questions! I can show you more photos, if you send me your email address and I can give you a link to a Tutorial about making glass lace.

    Thanks,
    Christine

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Chronicler,

    You said that you would like to see the glass vase reversed. What exactly do you mean? The black iridized glass on the outside and the Almond Opal glass with the blue lace on the inside?

    I just wanted to verify what you had in mind.

    Thanks,
    Christine


Leave a Reply

