What Went Wrong with this Glass Vase?

Glass Drop Ring Vase

Ok, I want to show you all my glass projects that turn out and look very nice.  Well, what do you think of this glass piece?  Did I plan to do this?  Is this a piece of real art? 

I did not plan for this glass piece to come out of the kiln this way.  You will have to determine if it is real art.  Let me know if you think it is or not!!

Ok, this is what happened.  I started to use my old kiln again that has two dials and no controller.  It takes a lot of time to watch the temperatures and to turn the heat up.  Well, I always have an alarm clock with me and I set it for the next time I need to check the kiln.  When the temp. reached 1050 degrees, I knew I had to get back and watch the glass drop through the drop ring mold.  However, I had the alarm set for about 45 minutes later. 

When my alarm went off, I panicked!  I knew I was supposed to check back a lot sooner.  I ran to the kiln, the temp. was 1500 degrees (way too hot!) and most of the glass had fallen through the mold to the shelf — as you can see in the photo.  I am glad that nothing was broken or that the glass melted onto the bottom of the kiln or onto the elements.  The glass circle was only 4 1/2″ in diameter.  I just may try more of these, except I wouldn’t let it drop this much.  I would still want an intact vase.  Keep your eyes on my blog, you just might see another one!

I turned the kiln off and didn’t even anneal it.  I am surprised that it hasn’t cracked into many pieces.  My husband said that he thought about bringing the glass vase to my last Craft Fair to see what people thought about it, but he didn’t.

Remember to let me know what you think of my new vase 🙂

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out my Glass Website!  The link is in the upper right hand corner in the About Me Section.

2 Responses to “What Went Wrong with this Glass Vase?”

  1. Evescreations Says:

    Hi, I’m new to fused glass, I’m in the process of building a studio and have never tried it but am absolutely fascinated by it. I think your glass looks like a work of art – no-one would know it wasn’t meant to look like that unless you told them – sell it as a work of art!

  2. Christine Masters Says:

    Hi Evescreations,

    Thanks for your confidence in this piece of art!! I haven’t tried to sell it, because it is so delicate. Now I guess I should give it a try!

    Thanks,
    Christine


Leave a Reply

