Fused Glass Tutorial: Bending Glass Stringers with a Candle Flame

Yellow Candle Bridge Holder

Fused Glass Tutorial

 Bending a Glass Stringer in a Candle Flame  

Have you ever wondered how you can achieve the black design on this Yellow Candle Bridge?  Well, it is very easy to do.

 1.  Materials:  

·   Standard 1mm thick Glass Stringer, any color

·    Candle

·     Fingers 

2.          Take the stringer and hold it with your fingers, tweezers, or pliers.  Use a long stringer, so you don’t burn your fingers in the flame.  You will need to practice a few times before you know how the stringer reacts to the flame.  

3.          Hold the stringer in the flame for about 8-10 seconds.  The stringer will start to melt and bend.  If you pull on the stringer, it will separate, which is fine, if that is what you want to achieve.    

4.          There will be some soot residue from the flame.  Don’t worry about it, because it will burn off in the kiln.  

5.          Experiment!   It is fun to see what you can do with the stringers.  You will begin to think of all sorts of ways to bend glass stringers with a simple candle flame! 

6.          Have Fun!

Send photos of your projects!  I’d love to see what different things you do!

Let me know if you have any questions.

______________________________________________

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out my Glass Website!  The link is in the upper right corner in the About Me Section.

9 Responses to “Fused Glass Tutorial: Bending Glass Stringers with a Candle Flame”

  1. chronicler Says:

    Very neat tutorial! I would never have thought to use a candle flame!

  2. Tiffani Says:

    i am doing this in art it is kinda fun. i would like to do it at home as well

  3. Christine Says:

    Hi Tiffani,

    I’m glad you are having fun with this. I really enjoy it, too. It is so easy. All you need is a glass stringer and a candle flame and your imagination!
    Christine

  4. floor jacks Says:

    It’s the first time I commented here and I should say that you give us genuine, and quality information for other bloggers! Good job.
    p.s. You have a very good template for your blog. Where have you got it from?

  5. glassart Says:

    Hi floor jacks,

    I’m so glad you finally left a comment on my blog!!

    Thanks for your kind words about my blog!

    I got the template for my blog from the WordPress templates — Garland by Stefan Nagtegaal and Steven Wittens.

    The theme is shown at the bottom of my blog pages.

    Thanks again,

    Christine

  6. Darie Says:

    Can you give me any instructions/books on fusing metal clay (in all it’s forms) in glass tiles? I tried several approaches using metal clay inside and outside of the glass but it was disappointing. I work in metal clay and want to explore how metal clay works with fused glass.
    Thanks for any guidance you may provide.
    Darie

  7. smilsshitle Says:

    Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I am experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting an identical rss drawback? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

    • Christine Says:

      Hi Smilsshitle,

      I’m glad you like the article and hope you give it a try. It is really fun to do!

      I’m not sure about the RSS feed. Did you try it again?

      Christine


Leave a Reply

