Wine Bottle Spoon Rest/Appetizer Dish

Wine Bottle Spoon Rest/Appetizer Dish

I have started to decorate my wine bottle spoon rests, even including an appetizer knife.   This gives a much better presentation and is a great gift for friends or family for the holidays.   It would also make a great host/hostess gift. 

The sides of the bottle are raised up to form a nice sized dish.  You can use if for so many things, like an appetizer dip, cheese and crackers, olives, carrots and celery and so much more…

My husband stole one of these to put misc. things in when he comes in the door from work.

I don’t have any on my website right now, because I have been so busy making them.  So, if you would like one, let me know and we can work out the details.

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out my Glass Website!  The link is in the upper right hand corner in the About Me Section.

10 Responses to “Wine Bottle Spoon Rest/Appetizer Dish”

  1. Sammy Says:

    This is a beautiful piece, where did you get it?

    • Jean Says:

      Hello,

      I have just started playing with the fused bottle, an unfornuately I do not have a klin. I am paying a lady $8.00 ea to fused them…..do you have any suggestions? What kind of wire are you using for the hanger…..copper?

      • Christine Masters Says:

        Hi Jean,

        Have you looked for a used kiln? Either a ceramic kiln or a glass kiln? Try Craigslist. I got my first kiln at a garage sale.

        Yes, I use a heavy duty copper wire for the hanger.

        Thanks,

        Christine

  2. Sammy Says:

    I apologize i posted to quickly when I saw the picture, you do outstanding work, absolutely gorgeous! I am going to your site right now. Thanks

  3. Christine Says:

    Hi Sammy,

    Thanks for the compliments! You must have figured it out – I slumped the wine bottle in my kiln and then added the knife, beads and raffia. 🙂

    Christine

  4. Jeannine Says:

    Is there a way to do these spoonrest/apetizer dish without babysitting the kiln? What do you set the kiln to. I have only done ceramic tiles but these look so neat! Thank you

  5. glassart Says:

    Hi Jeannine,

    If you have a manual kiln, you will need to babysit the kiln and raise the temps. at the appropriate times. I have written an article, “How to Fuse a Wine Bottle” and it is available on my website at the following link: http://www.mastersglassart.com/new375020.html.

    This should help you get started.

    Thanks,
    Christine

  6. tara Says:

    Hi, I am looking for someone to make 6 slumped bottle trays out of a particular wine…I can supply the empty bottles. My question is can labels be kept on? I’d appreciate a quote if you know of someone that can take on the project. Thanks

  7. Bill Taylor Says:

    My daughter and I make these trays. I am a potter so I have the kiln equipment and she has the talent to decorate. She has paid for 1/2 of her M. Ed. courses with her talent.


Leave a Reply

