Isn’t This a Great Glass Vase For Roses?

Purple Glass Vase

I just finished making this glass vase for one of my husband’s co-workers.   His girlfriend wanted a nice vase to put the roses that he gives her in, which I think is on a regular basis  🙂

I really love this glass vase and hate to give it away.  In a couple of days, the couple are coming to our house to pick up the glass vase rather than my husband bringing it to work.  Now this is significant, because it is a 40 minute drive for them.  I’m not sure why they want to drive all that way to pick it up.  Maybe he is going to propose to his girlfriend once he gets the glass vase.  I’ll bet he is going to bring real roses for their new glass vase.

I always take pictures of my glass creations, so I took a few pictures today to see how they would turn out.  If I need to take more, I have some time tomorrow.

Wouldn’t this glass vase look classy in your house?  It is ready for any fresh flowers you bring home.

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out all my Glass Creations!

5 Responses to “Isn’t This a Great Glass Vase For Roses?”

  1. Barney Says:

    The vase looks awesome. It will go well with any type of flowers. I hope the couple loves it and I wish them a bright and happy future. You did a great job.

  2. glassart Says:

    Thanks for your very kind words!

  3. glassart Says:

    Udate: They both really love the glass vase! They said it is perfect and it is just what they wanted.

    I am so happy that they loved it!

    Christine

  4. June Askew Says:

    Hi I am hoping you can give me the measurements of yourglass & recommend the required sizes for the drop mold. I have a friend who does ceramics, she could make one. Also like your fluted one. I am about to buy an Evenheat kiln that does glass & PMC, it will take things up to about 11 1/2″ so I am looking forward to trying out some things you have made. Haven’t looked at all your things but am looking forward to seeing it all. Thanks for your generous site, I live in Queensland, Australia. Regards June

  5. glassart Says:

    Hi June,
    Thanks for the compliments on my glass art! You live a long way from me; I live in Oregon, USA.

    This glass vase is 10″ high and 8″ wide at the top. I fused five layers of glass together, plus the cobalt blue glass lace design. I used a drop ring that is 9″ in diameter on the outside and 5″ diameter on the inside.

    I recommend starting out making smaller vases and work your way up to the taller ones. For a 4″ vase, I use 2 layers of glass (each layer is 3mm thick) and as you increase the height 2″ — add another layer of glass. Sorry about using inches, since I assume you use centimeters.

    Let me know how things go for you! Don’t hesitate to ask me more questions.

    Christine


Leave a Reply

