Slumped a 10″ high Glass Vase

Yesterday, I slumped another 10″ high Grape Glass Vase with white opal lace.  Since the glass had five layers of glass fused together, I had to go very slow in the heat up and cool down phases.  It is still cooling down, so I can’t look at it right now. 

From looking at it when it was slumping, there is a slight bulge at the bottom.  I didn’t open the kiln slightly to cool the kiln enough to stop the glass from moving.  I was trying to figure out a new firing schedule, because I had to stop the soak earlier than I had entered into the firing schedule.  I think it will be fine, though.  It gives the glass vase some character.

I need to fuse three layers of round glass to serve as a base for the glass vase.  After that, I will tack fuse the base to the glass vase to give the vase more stability.  I don’t have a picture of it yet, but I made one of these glass vases a few months ago and posted it to this blog.  The only difference is that the glass vase is grape instead of light purple.

I will post a picture when it is complete.

Christine — Glass Artist

 

Click here to see some of our other Glass Vases:

http://www.mastersglassart.com/catalog286826.html

Leave a Reply

