I Just Fired a 10″ High Glass Vase

I just pulled out another 10″ high Glass Drop Ring Vase!  It turned out great!  I don’t have a picture of it yet.  I am just so excited that it turned out so nicely.  I fused five layers of glass, plus some scrap glass for the design.  I had to fuse five layers of glass, because the glass drop ring is 10″ high.  When the glass drops through the ring, it stretches quite a long ways and I didn’t want the neck of the vase to be too thin.

I need to fuse three layers of round glass to make a base for the glass vase.  This will make the glass vase more substantial.  I don’t want to make the base larger than the hole in the ring mold.  Otherwise, I would have to break the mold to get the glass vase out of the ring mold.  I suppose it would be a rather interesting glass vase if I made the base larger and just kept the ring mold with the glass vase 🙂

I will post a picture when I take one.

Christine — Glass Artist

 

Click here to see some of my other Glass Vases:

http://www.mastersglassart.com/catalog286826.html

3 Responses to “I Just Fired a 10″ High Glass Vase”

  1. veta Says:

    please tell me your firing schedule! !!!!! thanks veta

  2. Jesica Says:

    When you fuse the 5 layers for this, how do you size them? ie: A 7″mold with a 3″ hole, if you were to fuse 5 layers of 7″circles, wouldn’t they spread larger than the mold when fusing? Or do you not heat to a full fuse, and just get them tacked?

    I am eager to try taller drops, but I’m not sure about the size, and I can’t afford to waste a lot of glass figuring it out!

    • glassart Says:

      Hi Jesica,
      For this vase, I used a drop ring mold that is 9″ diameter on the outside and has a 5″ hole. I cut five circles 6 1/2″ in diameter. I full fused two of the layers and then three of the layers and then I full fuse those two together for the final five layers. The final circle does spread out to around 7 1/4″ to 7 1/2.” I can’t remember exactly.

      You do want plenty of glass for the rim, otherwise, the glass will fall through the hole. For the 10″ high vase, I would start out with a 2″ or 3″ rim — 4″ or 6″ larger in diameter than the hole of the drop ring mold.

      I hope this helps.

      Christine


Leave a Reply

