Fused Champagne Bottle

A gentleman sent me this gorgeous Champagne Bottle that was very special to him and his wife.  He said that they drank the Champagne in Italy while celebrating their sister’s 50th birthday.  However, he didn’t tell me this until after the fusing and after he found out that the paintings didn’t burn off in the kiln.  Before I fused it in the kiln, he told me that it didn’t matter if the painting burned off or not.  He just wanted to give it a try. 

Thinking about it now, I know that I would have been very nervous while fusing the bottle, if I had known how special the bottle was to him.  Now that I know how special the bottle was to him and his wife, I am so very happy that the paintings didn’t burn off.  Now they have a very special, gorgeous and unique Champagne Bottle!

Christine — Glass Artist

 

Click here to see some of our Fused and Slumped Alcohol Bottles:

http://www.mastersglassart.com/catalog359387.html

2 Responses to “Fused Champagne Bottle”

  1. Wendy Says:

    What temperature did you fuse the bottle at, and how did you keep it from rolling during the fusing?

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Wendy,

    I fused it to 1460 degrees.

    I cut small squares of fiber paper and place one on each side of the bottle at the bottom. This works most of the time. During two different firings, the bottles rolled into each other. I have a couple unique sculptural pieces of Grey Goose Vodka Bottles! 🙂

    Christine


Leave a Reply

