Orangish-Red Glass Earrings

Orange Glass Earrings

I am always on a quest to make red glass dichroic earrings.  I order red dichroic glass, but after I fire it, it comes out more orangish-red.   Anyway, these cute glass earrings are 1 1/8″ high and 1/4″ wide at the top. 

I adhered the sterling silver plated bails with Triolyse.  This is my favorite glue for gluing bails to glass earrings and glass pendants.  I have found that the bond is very strong and very few bails come off in my “pulling test.”  I have tried several kinds of glues, such as different kinds of epoxy, rear window glue, and E-6000.

I like the shape of these glass earrings, too.  After firing these glass earrings, I ground them to a point and then fire polished them.

If anyone can help me with firing red dichroic glass so it stays red, or help me find a certain brand of dichroic glass that makes truly red dichroic glass, please leave a comment.  If you are having the same problems, please leave a comment, so we can share in our struggles 🙂

Christine — Glass Artist

 

Click here to see more of my Glass Earrings:

http://www.mastersglassart.com/catalog302000.html

2 Responses to “Orangish-Red Glass Earrings”

  1. Anna Bowman Says:

    Christine, regarding the red dichroic earrings, I have read (but not tried) that if you top the dichroic with neo-lavender glass (Bullseye) the red will be retained.

    I really like your work.

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Anna,
    Thanks for your nice words about my Glass Art!

    I will try the neo-lavender glass. I hadn’t heard that before. Thanks for the info!

    Christine


Leave a Reply

