Purple Glass Vase

Purple Glass Vase

Purple Glass Vase

I created this glass vase a couple of months ago.  There are a lot of steps to go through and a lot of firings.  This glass vase is 10 1/2″ tall, so it required five layers of glass to drop it so far.

A drop out ring vase of 4″ requires two layers of glass.  For every two inches added to the height, another layer of glass is required.   The reason for adding a layer at these intervals is to prevent the glass just below the rim from getting too thin.

In addition to the five layers of glass, I fused some white lace to the bottom.

When the vase is dropping, attention is required so the bottom of the vase doesn’t drop too much.  If this happens, the bottom will start to bulge out.  The bottom of this glass vase started to bulge a little.  Actually, the bulge occurred when I was tack fusing the base to the vase.  I think I held it for too long.

I’d love to know what you think of it!!  Please leave a message — it doesn’t take very long.

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to visit my Glass Website: http://www.mastersglassart.com

.

8 Responses to “Purple Glass Vase”

  1. Karen Says:

    OMG!!! I love it!!! You are just so talented.

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Karen,

    Thanks so much for your compliments!! I always like to hear from other people about my glass pieces.

    Thanks again,
    Christine

  3. Charles L. Best Says:

    Very attractive vase with my favorite color. I am still trying to get this procedure down to be more repetitive. Glass does not melt symetrically and that is agrivating.

  4. glassart Says:

    Hi Charles,

    Glass has a mind of its own. When you plan on it coming out a certain way, sometimes it is totally different.

    With some practice, you will be able to have the glass do more of what you want it to do. However, there is always a time when it still doesn’t do what you want it to.

    Thanks for the compliment on my glass vase!!

    Christine

  5. Cheryl Anne Says:

    This is my first comment, even though I visit your site often. All the work you have done blows my mind away. I love all your vases and they just keep getting better and better. God has really given you a great talent. All your studing and working hard seems to be payiing off, with beautiful returns. Keep up the great work and may the Lord continue to bless the work of your hands.

    Thank you for your awesome web site. It encourages me to keep going and to try new things.

    Thank you,
    cheryl anne
    St Pete Florida

  6. Christine Masters Says:

    Hi Cheryl Anne,

    Wow!! Thanks for the wonderful comments!! I am glad you finally decided to leave a comment. Who couldn’t ask for a better one!!

    Feel free to leave more 🙂

    Christine

  7. Heidi Ross Says:

    Hi, I would love to know the firing schedule you use when you tack fuse the bottom piece to the vase.
    Thank you,
    Heidi Ross

  8. glassart Says:

    Hi Heidi,

    I take the kiln up to 1200 degrees and hold for 10 minutes. I hope this helps.

    Thanks,

    Christine


Leave a Reply

