Fused Glass Plate with Iridized Glass

fused-glass-plate-various-irid-pattern-1

I made four 8″ Fused Glass Plates with iridized glass a couple of months ago.  I had a desire to make a series of these fused glass plates.   I used several different colors of iridized glass and put them in the kiln face down.  I added a clear on top of the iridized glass.  The next kiln firing, I fire polished the fused glass plate face up and added the different colors of Sizzle Stix to tack fuse them.  I slumped the fused glass plate into an 8″ slumper mold.

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to see the rest of my Glass Creations: http://www.mastersglassart.com

.

2 Responses to “Fused Glass Plate with Iridized Glass”

  1. Karen Says:

    Wow! This is beautiful! I love the way it looks. What do you mean by you fire polished it?

  2. glassart Says:

    Hi Karen,

    Thanks for the compliments!!

    After the full fuse, the plate needed some grinding on the edges to make them straight. This leaves a non-shiny surface which needs to be shiny like the rest of the plate.

    I fire polish it at around 1400 degrees which takes care of the dull edge where I ground the plate edges.

    Does this make sense to you?

    Christine


Leave a Reply

