Absolut Vodka Bottle Cup or Vase

David made this Absolut Vodka Bottle Cup or Vase.  He used a tile saw to cut the top off.  There were sharp edges, so he polished the rim.  It is so smooth, now, that you can drink a very, very large martini from it!!  He made several different kinds, like Absolut Citron, Pepper and Mandarin.  He also made a couple from Grey Goose Vodka Bottles.

These can also be used as vases for fresh or dried flowers.

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to see more of my Fused Glass Art:  www.mastersglassart.com

.

2 Responses to “Absolut Vodka Bottle Cup or Vase”

  1. Jesica Says:

    How did he polish the rim? I’ve been using the “bottle cutter” gimmicky tool to cut them, but I’m at a loss on how to get the rim smoothed out.

  2. glassart Says:

    Hello Jesica,

    I use a combination of a standard glass grinder (such as Inland, Gryphon, Glastar or Diamond Tech) and a wet grinder (typically used for grinding and polishing stone).

    As Christine mentioned, I used a tile saw for the first several glasses I did, and I don’t recommend that, as it has a tendency to severely chip the edge of the cut. I’ve since bought a bottle cutter gimmicky tool, as you put it, since I’ve been told it leaves a much better starting edge.

    Either way, I use the standard glass grinder to flatten and even out the surface cut, as well as beveling the edge for finishing. I first remove the chips and even everything out with the disc grinder (Diamond Max 2 in 1 Grinder). Don’t forget to set up some kind of water delivery system when doing this. The disc is great for this, though you do have to be very careful and maintain control of the bottle. If you don’t, the bottle will start to spin out to the side and clip the motor’s bit shaft, usually shattering the bottle you are holding, or at the very least, breaking the side out. I recommend heavy duty, cut resistant gloves for this, as a precaution.

    Once the surface is flat and even, I bevel the sharp edges on the inside and the outside by running it along the standard router bit a couple of times to give it a roughly rounded shape.

    Now that I’ve got the worst of the sharp edges rounded off, I use the wet grinder. The wet grinder attaches to a hose, and I’ve jury-rigged a system (cinder blocks with weights to hold the grinder) where I can set the grinder over an edge, have easy access to the grinding pad, without having to hold the grinder, only the bottle. The grinder has velcro pads with varying grinding/polishing grades, and I slowly work my way up through them until I am happy with the polish and feel of the edge.

    I usually start with the outside, as its easiest, slowly rotating the glass around against the pad, rounding the bevels completely out. Then I slowly work my way across the top to the inner bevels and round them out. The inside never gets quite as well polished, as its harder to get the pads inside the glass to do a decent polish without damaging the pads, but you should be able to get in far enough to remove any sharp edges on the bevels.

    I’ve been looking for a better system, as there must be some router style bits that I could just use to grind/bevel/round the edge in one step, but I haven’t found anything that can handle the curve of the different bottles, or that has a fine enough finish to actually polish the glass, not just grind it. Flame/torch working the ends might also work, but we’re not set up (yet, I keep hoping) with any of that equipment.

    Plan on having some rain gear handy, or nice warm weather, as this system sprays water pretty much everywhere, and without it, you’ll be soaked in a matter of minutes.

    If you don’t plan on drinking out of them, you probably don’t need to go to all this trouble, and just the initial beveling on the standard grinder would be enough. Since we’re promoting these as drinking glasses, they need to be polished.

    Hope that answers your questions. I don’t think we took any pictures the last time I was working on bottles, so it’ll have to wait until the weather warms up and I start making more again. Then we can get some photos thrown in to show some of the technique.

    David – Glass Artist


Leave a Reply

