Grape Cluster Fused Glass Plate

I love this fused glass plate!  I originally made a grape cluster with leaves design on a fused glass spoon rest.  I liked it so much, I thought I would design one for a fused glass plate.  For someone who has a grape or wine theme in their kitchen or dining room, I think this fused glass plate would fit in very nicely!  Wouldn’t it be the perfect plate to serve cheese and crackers with your wine?  Also, you can display it on a shelf when you are not using it.

Making this fused glass plate was a lot of work, but I really enjoyed the process.  I cut each grape and ground it so it was smooth.  I used a ring saw to cut out the leaves.  I used a candle flame to bend green stringers for the stems.

This fused glass plate measures 8 inches by 8 inches.  I used an 8 inch square Slumper Mold to get the shape.

Let me know what you think about this fused glass plate!!  I’d love to hear from you!  It doesn’t take long to make a short comment 🙂

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to see more of my Fused Glass Art:  www.mastersglassart.com

.

 

4 Responses to “Grape Cluster Fused Glass Plate”

  1. amanda Says:

    Very Cool. What kind of ring saw do you have?

    • Christine Masters Says:

      Hi Amanda,

      Thanks for the compliment! I have a Taurus 3 Ring Saw. I bought it used, but hardly used, so I got a good deal.

      I had it for 1 1/2 years before I tried using it. I guess I was intimidated by it. However, now I love it and it is the perfect tool for the leaves in this plate. I didn’t have to use the grinder at all.

      Christine

  2. Julie Eiden Says:

    Nice plate. I like the design. I wish I had a ring saw – I have tool envy;-)


Leave a Reply

