Blue Butterfly Fused Glass Spoon Rest

Fused Glass Spoon Rest

This fused glass spoon rest is one of my favorites!  I love butterflies and I love flowers!  So, I combined the two on this glass spoon rest.  The butterfly is the hardest thing to make.  I use a template to cut out two pieces for the blue wings.  Then, I grind each one so they match and actually look like butterfly wings.  I add small white pieces of glass to add interest to the butterfly.

I use glass stringers for the stems and small pieces of glass for the small flower petals.  When everything is in place, I fuse two layers of clear glass with the butterfly and flowers.  To finish off the fused glass spoon rest, I slump the glass into a spoon rest mold to give it the shape of a spoon rest.

This spoon rest sold soon after I finished it.  I guess I will need to make another one, but I never make the same one twice, so the butterfly will have to be a different color, etc.

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to see more of my Fused Glass Art:

www.mastersglassart.com

.

2 Responses to “Blue Butterfly Fused Glass Spoon Rest”

  1. Bonnie Swanson Says:

    I want to but the butterfly spoon rest but can’t find a way to purchase from the site I am on… HELP!


Leave a Reply

