Blue Basket Weave Fused Glass Vase

Basket Weave Fused Glass Vase

Basket Weave Fused Glass Vases are special to me, because I used to weave real baskets made out of reed.  So, when I started making fused glass, I soon started making fused glass basket weave vases and plates.  Granted, my basket weave glass vases and plates are not a true basket weave (gosh, should I really be telling you this :)).  They look like it, but when you look closer, you can see that some of the glass strips are on top of all the others and some are on the bottom of all the others.  To do this, I lay out one-fourth of the strips in one direction and one-fourth of the strips in the other direction and then I repeat, so I have four layers of strips.  This gives the illusion of the basket weave design.

I do have a mold where I can slump strips of glass into an “s” shape and then put straight strips of glass through the gaps, thus creating a truer basket weave design.  I will tell you more about it when I finish one of those plates!

For this fused glass vase, I used Spectrum 96 Cascadia OpalArt glass.

Christine — Glass Artist

.

Click here to see more of my Fused Glass Art:

www.mastersglassart.com

.

2 Responses to “Blue Basket Weave Fused Glass Vase”

  1. Diamond Tech Crafts Says:

    Great work, I love your technique!


Leave a Reply

