Glass Tutorial: Drop Ring Mold: Part 1

 Since I made a glass vase yesterday, I thought I would share with you the process I went through to make it (I hope it turns out ok, so you will see something nice 🙂 ).

I used a drop ring mold that is 9″ in diameter on the outside and the hole is 5″ in diameter. I cut two circles of clear glass (96 Spectrum) about 7″ in diameter. I fused these two layers together in my kiln a couple of weeks ago. I want to have two layers of glass for this vase, because I am making it 4″ tall and I don’t want the vase to be too fragile.

I chose three colors of glass to add to the top of the clear layers. I gathered up my frit, stingers and scrap glass in these three colors and arranged them with no particular pattern in mind.

drop-ring-glass-prior-to-firing.jpg

  

This photo shows the clear glass with three colors of frit, stringers and scrap glass on top. I put the glass on the drop ring mold and made sure it was centered.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

drop-ring-glass-prior-to-firing-2.jpg 

I put the drop ring mold on posts that are 4″ high.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I tack fused the colored glass to the clear glass in one firing. To do this, I soaked the glass at 1200 degrees for 60 minutes. After that, I raised the temperature to 1330 degrees and watched the glass very closely, so it would melt down to the shelf and make a nice solid base. I got the idea to tack fuse and slump the drop ring in one fusing from the website: www.warmglass.com in the Warm Tips section.

I am using a manual ceramic kiln, so I need to spend a lot of time watching the temperature and turning the dials on the kiln up or down when needed. During parts of the firing, the glass piece needs to soak at a certain temperature, so I need to be watching the temperature, so it stays constant.

Part 2 will show you the finished vase.

Christine — Glass Artist

Check out my glass website!  The link is in the About Me section. 

 

3 Responses to “Glass Tutorial: Drop Ring Mold: Part 1”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Thank you for sharing your information. I have wanted to do a drop vase but wasn’t sure how to begin.

  2. YVirginia Corley Says:

    Can you put the rate of climb and hold for each segment please…..thanks. VR

  3. นักบอลไทยชื่อดัง Says:

    This website definitely has all the information I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.


Leave a comment